Breaking News

Wallabies make changes for clash with Springboks

Experienced halfback Nic White has earnedt a recall to the Wallabies starting side for Saturday’s Rugby Championship clash against South Africa at the expense of Tate McDermott.

It’s one of three changes to Australia’s side from the team that started in the Wallabies’ 28-26 defeat of the Springboks last Sunday night.

The other two changes for the Suncorp Stadium battle come in the front row, where props James Slipper and Taniela Tupou replace Angus Bell and Allan Alaalatoa, who has returned to Canberra for the birth of his child.

Quade Cooper will again start at flyhalf after his match-winning performance last week in his return to Test rugby after a four-year absence.

Nic White will partner Quade Cooper in that halves for the Wallabies against South Africa this weekend. Picture: Jono Searle/Getty ImagesSource: Getty Images

However, there remains no room in the 23 for the fit-again James O’Connor, despite calls for the Queensland Reds star to start at fullback ahead of Tom Banks.

Instead, Banks will maintain his run of having worn the No.15 jersey in all of the Wallabies’ Tests this year.

Skipper Michael Hooper will this weekend overtake George Gregan for most Tests as Wallabies captain.

Having first led the Wallabies as a 22-year-old in 2014, Hooper will captain Australia for the 60th time on Saturday.

“It’s an incredible milestone for ‘Hoops’ on Saturday evening in Brisbane and it’s a testament to him as a person and a player,” Wallabies coach Dave Rennie said

“I’ve been so impressed with his leadership both on and off the field and his drive to be better every day.

“We were really proud of the effort from our men last Sunday and we’re well aware of the ferocity that a wounded Springboks outfit will bring to Suncorp Stadium.”

Wallabies team to play South Africa at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday at 5.05pm (AEST)

1. James Slipper (107 Tests)

2. Folau Fainga’a (18 Tests)

3. Taniela Tupou (32 Tests)

4. Izack Rodda (27 Tests)

5. Matt Philip (16 Tests)

6. Lachlan Swinton (5 Tests)

7. Michael Hooper (c) (112 Tests)

8. Rob Valetini (11 Tests)

9. Nic White (40 Tests)

10. Quade Cooper (71 Tests)

11. Marika Koroibete (40 Tests)

12. Samu Kerevi (35 Tests)

13. Len Ikitau (6 Tests)

14. Andrew Kellaway (6 Tests)

15. Tom Banks (18 Tests)


16. Feleti Kaitu’u (1 Test)

17. Angus Bell (9 Tests)

18. Tom Robertson (24 Tests)

19. Darcy Swain (6 Tests)

20. Pete Samu (12 Tests)

21. Tate McDermott (9 Tests)

22. Reece Hodge (50 Tests)

23. Jordan Petaia (11 Tests)

Leave a Reply