Breaking News

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja nominated to the Indian team for the WTC final

Spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja have both been named to India’s 15-man shortlist for the inaugural World Test Championship (WTC) final against New Zealand, which begins on Friday.

Jadeja, along with Mohammed Shami, Hanuma Vihari and Umesh Yadav, all injured while touring Australia in December and January, are returning to the Indian test squad after missing the home series against England earlier this year.

Left arm spinner Axar Patel, who starred in England’s 3-1 win test series, and hitter KL Rahul, who underwent appendicitis surgery in May, missed the cut after being were named in the preliminary team of 20 men. Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur and Mayank Agarwal are also out.

On Tuesday, New Zealand captain Kane and wicketkeeper BJ Watling were declared eligible to play in the final after the pair missed an eight-wicket win over England at Edgbaston due to injuries.

The WTC was launched in 2019 to create a flagship event for five-day international cricket, following the successes of the Twenty20 and 50 over World Cups. Australia and England were in contention before India and New Zealand took the lead to take the top two places in the final. The championship final will be played at the Rose Bowl in Southampton.

Team: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Sidami, Umesh.

Leave a Reply